Health Care

Former president and former first lady host Methodist Folsom Patron Party honoring David Miller

Former President George W. Bush and former First Lady Laura Bush hosted the Methodist Health System Folsom Leadership Award Patron Party on Oct. 11 in the Presidential Reception Hall at the George W. Bush Presidential Center in honor of 2017 recipient David B. Miller. Miller is co-founder and managing partner of EnCap Investments and a community leader who supports numerous charities through the Miller Family Foundation.

Miller will receive the prestigious award at a sold out dinner Wednesday, Oct. 25, at the Hilton Anatole Hotel’s Grand Ballroom. Established in 2005, the award recognizes individuals whose demonstrated commitment and excellence in community leadership emulate the achievements of the late Dallas Mayor Robert S. Folsom.

In 2016, Methodist Health System provided more than $149 million in unreimbursed charity care, which represents a growing portion of total care provided in North Texas. The Folsom dinner, recognized as one of Dallas’s largest fundraising events, has raised more than $15 million net to benefit Methodist Health System’s programs and services.

Past Folsom Leadership Award recipients include a who’s who in Dallas: the late Robert S. Folsom (2005), Nancy Ann Hunt (2006), Troy Aikman (2007), Laura Bush (2008), the late Norman Brinker (2009), Pat and Emmitt Smith (2010), Trevor Rees-Jones (2011), Mike Boone (2012), the Rev. Mark Craig (2013), Bobby B. Lyle (2014), Jack Lowe, Jr. (2015), and R. Gerald Turner, Ph.D. (2016).

At the Patron Party, The Honorable Phillips welcomed the guests, followed by President Bush who thanked Methodist for honoring such a generous and good man.

Miller then thanked President and  for hosting the patron party. He remarked on the award’s namesake, Bob Folsom, who lettered in four sports at SMU.

“When I attended SMU, Bob Folsom was our role model.  He was a quintessential leader who was a highly successful business man, mayor of the City of Dallas, president of the DISD school board and an incredibly generous philanthropist. I’m honored to be receiving his namesake award. Carolyn and I are pleased to be connected with Methodist and its mission of providing caring and compassionate medical care, often times to the less fortunate, in this community. Thanks to all of you in attendance tonight for your very generous support, and I especially want to acknowledge and thank all the co-chairs who have done a remarkable job in making this event a success.”

Co-chairs for the event include Nancy Ann and Ray Hunt, Lottye and Bobby B. Lyle, The Honorable Jeanne L. Phillips and Gail and Gerald Turner.

Methodist Health System Foundation President James M. Johnston added his thanks to the Bushes for hosting, recognized the Folsom family.

“David represents in a powerful way Bob Folsom’s legacy of love and service to our community. He joins a stellar group of former recipients in attendance tonight: Laura Bush, Mike Boone, Bobby Lyle and Gerald Turner.” He also thanked the many sponsors including Presenting Sponsor, The Lupe Murchison Foundation, and its trustees, Jerry Smith, Robert McCullough and Mike Redden, and RGT Wealth Advisors, Mark Griege, Chuck Thoele, Pete Bricker and Pete Lodwick, who sponsored the Patron Party.

Presenting Sponsor: The Lupe Murchison Foundation 

Lead Sponsors: Meredith and Kyle Bebee/Katy and Kyle Miller, EnCap Investments, L.P., Nancy Ann and Ray L. Hunt, Lottye and Bobby Lyle, RGT Wealth Advisors

Platinum Sponsors: Gina and Tucker Bridwell, The Dedman Foundation Fund of Communities Foundation of Texas

Gold Sponsors: Belle and Donnie Berg, Dallas Southwest Osteopathic Physicians, Folsom Properties, Inc., Nita and John Ford, Linda and Mitch Hart, Murphy USA, Pat and Pete Schenkel, Mary and Rich Templeton

Leadership Circle Sponsors: Sam S. Ahn, MD, Allie Beth and Pierce Allman, Ruth and Ken Altshuler/Vin and Caren Prothro Foundation, Amegy Bank, Aramark Healthcare, AT&T, Joyce and Selly Belofsky, Wichita Falls Area Community Foundation-Pat and Jane Bolin Family Donor Advised Fund, Holly and Doug Brooks Family Foundation, Ann and Brad Brookshire, Burford & Ryburn L.L.P., Lori and John Collins/Haynes and Boone, LLP, Comerica Bank, Kelly H. Compton, Crow Holdings Capital-Investment Partners & Crow Holdings, Sylvie and Gary Crum, Claire and Dwight Emanuelson, Paul S. Farrow/Ebby Halliday Realtors, Hon. Richard Fisher, Jim and Petey Fite/Century 21 Judge Fite Company, Folsom Family, Kay and Duncan Fulton, J.M. Haggar, Jr. Family Foundation, Sylvia Hargrave, MD, Jan and Fred Hegi, Kathy and Larry Helm, In Memory of Sally Houston, Tracey and David Huntley, J.P. Morgan, Dodge Jones Foundation, Gene and Jerry Jones, Janey and Darrell Jordan, Ashlee and Chris Kleinert, Laboratory Physicians Association, Lockton Dunning Benefits, Mary and Jack Lowe, Penny and Paul Loyd, Cathy and Harold MacDowell, Theresa and Murphy Markham, Carolyn and David Neal, NueHealth, Perkins+Will, Hon. Jeanne Phillips, Elaine and Michael Redden, Eileen and Ron Ricks, Emily and Bruce Robson, Rogers-O’Brien Construction, Vic Salvino, Dr. Allen and Elaine Schneider, Peggy and Carl Sewell, Gay and Bill Solomon, TD Bank, N.A., Texas Star Landscapes LLC, Thompson & Knight Foundation, U.S. Anesthesia Partners and Winstead PC. publishes every week.
All of our reporting takes hours of time to curate, research and report news that can impact the work you do!

Your contribution of a few dollars a month will support our reporters, expand our coverage and ensure we continue bringing you timely, relevant nonprofit news!

Support This Site

About the author